Progress, sorta…

With the brake booster gone and compact Wilwood master cylinder now mounted on the firewall with the adaptor I machined, I had a heap of space behind the strut tower to fill. Enough space I could fill it with a catch can. Made a paper prototype to check the fit and then as usual left it in the good hands of Adam at C’s Garage. Hes become my regular ali welding expert lately haha, works out good though as he often needs bits and pieces machined up here and there.

IMG_1868.JPGIMG_1878.JPG

Quality workmanship as always… Made up some -10 AN lines and it was done. Catch can crossed off the list!

Next thing which has been bugging me for a while, was the shabbiness of the front panel. Obviously been in a crash (or two) before I bought the car, and the less than average repairs were starting to show with seam sealer peeling away from rusty bare panels, cracks in the upper rad support and even in the lower crossmember where the castor arms pick up from. So I went to the extreme and rather try to repair crap, I chopped the front off decided to start from scratch with some tube instead.

Start of the top tube bent up. This is a bolt in piece. Hoping to make it so I can unbolt it and remove it with the headlights, grille, intercooler etc all attached to make engine removal and maintenance a breeze.

IMG_1881.JPG

Lower tube (38 x 2.6) welded in place with some gussets. Made up the castor arm bracket  mounts. Notching them was a little tricky to get a nice fit, first one took over an hour, and the second one only took 15mins to get right haha. Evidence of the damaged panels there. That will get some more hammer and dolly work before it all gets painted.

IMG_1883.JPG

Added some 3/4″ tube to the lower tube so I could weld the lower rad mounts on. And playing with the idea of doing some small tubs with the cardboard template. They take up a bit more room, but I dont have a lot to put in that space.

IMG_1889.JPGIMG_1894.JPG

Made up some end caps for the front tub/wings. This will add alot of strength back to those front tubs, also tidy up the front a bit also. They are just taped on atm as I need to dimple die those holes.

IMG_1893.JPG

Will have some more updates with the front end soon!

One thought on “Progress, sorta…”

Leave a comment